Board Of Directors

2014 Rugby Ontario Board of Directors

NamePositionContact Info
David Nelson
Claudine Tyrell
Bill Di Nardo
Nathan Baker
David Butler
Mark Johnson
Robin MacLachlan
Bob McGeein
Glenn Tarver
Mark Winokur
Steve MacNeil
Dean Meloche
Appointed Director
Annemaree Peters
Mark PinguetAppointed
Costa Nicolaidis
Andrew Backer
Executive Director -

2014 Staff/Board of Directors Organizational Chart   

The 2014 Rugby Ontario Board of Directors was determined at the 2013 Rugby Ontario Annual General Meeting, held Sunday, Dec. 8th. 


All Rugby Ontario Board of Directors positions are up for election at the 2014 AGM. Eight (8) positions are available. These terms will be:

(a)  Two (2) year terms for the four (4) elected candidates who receive the 1st to 4th most votes

(b)  One (1) year term for the four (4) elected candidates who receive the 5th to 8th most votes

Please note those Board Directors whose terms are concluding may seek re-election.


As per Part 3.5 of the Rugby Ontario Governance Manual, in identifying suitably qualified individuals for election to the Board, the Nominating Committee must ensure that candidates meet the eligibility criteria specified in paragraph 4.3 of the By-Laws. By-Law 4.3 states: “to be eligible for election as a Director, an individual must:

a)    Be eighteen (18) years of age or older;

b)     Be a resident of Canada as defined in the Income Tax Act;

c)      Be willing to comply with the Rugby Ontario Director’s Code of Conduct

d)     Have the power under law to contract;

e)     Have not been declared incapable under the Substitute Decisions Act, 1992 or under the Mental Health Act of managing property

f)       Not have the status of bankruptcy;

g)     Consent to submitting a Vulnerable Sector Screening check; and

h)     Consent to provide, receive and retain information and records in electronic form”


In addition, Part 3.5 of the Rugby Ontario Governance Manual states: “the Committee should verify that candidates possess one or more of the following attributes and skills:

·      Accounting, human resource management or legal designation.

·      Significant experience in communications, finance, fundraising, marketing, media or public relations.

·      Significant experience in government relations, planning, policy development or risk management.

·      Significant experience in sport administration at multiple levels.

The above qualifications should assist the Committee in identifying interested individuals with diverse skills and experiences that, collectively, add value to the Board and, by extension, the rugby organizations that it represents.”


Candidates must submit the 2015 Rugby Ontario Board of Directors Nominations Form to the attention of the Executive Director, Andrew Backer at Nominees may also submit a one-page nominee biography attached to their nomination form. The deadline for nominations is Thursday, November 27, 2014. 

All nominations received by Wednesday, 
November 19 will have their name, email address, qualifications/reason for standing and nominee biography published in the 2014 Rugby Ontario AGM Booklet. Those received after November 19, but on or before November 27, will have their nomination posted on the Rugby Ontario website, but not in the AGM booklet.

Thank you for your consideration.

Bob McGeein
Nominating Committee Chair

To download the 2015 Rugby Ontario Board of Directors Nominations Form, please click here.


© 2013 Rugby Ontario. All Rights Reserved. Powered by CanSport LIVE.
WordPress Tutorial