Latest News

2/3/2017

CANADA MEN'S SEVENS LINEUP SET FOR SYDNEY INCLUDING ONTARIO TRIO

With files from Matt Tidcombe, Rugby Canada Communications

After a fourth place finish at last weekend’s Wellington Sevens, Canada are set to build on that performance at the Sydney Sevens.

Canada has been drawn into Pool D with Argentina, USA and Russia as they look to reach the cup quarters for the second straight tournament.

“We are trying hard to focus on playing the upcoming games and leaving last weeks finish behind,” said head coach Damian McGrath. “The confidence we gained from playing well is what we have to build on as the season progresses. I am really interested to see how we cope with our improved standing.

“Although there are no easy games in sevens we can’t complain about our group. We know that Russia will be competitive and of course Argentina will be eager to even the score after we beat them in Wellington. USA are dangerous opponents and that will be a key game on the first day.”

Nathan Hirayama has been ruled out due to injury and has been replaced by Caleb Jordan. Harry Jones will once again captain Canada and is joined by Matt Mullins, Isaac Kaay, Mike Fuailefau, John Moonlight, Luke McCloskey, Karsten Leitner, Lucas Hammond, Justin Douglas, Pat Kay and Adam Zaruba.

Canada went 3-0 on Day 1 in Wellington with wins over Scotland, Wales and Russia before beating Argentina in their cup quarterfinal. Defeats to South Africa and Scotland meant Canada finished fourth and now sit in 12th place, only nine points outside of the top six.

The Sydney Sevens can be seen LIVE at www.worldrugby.org

Canada’s Men’s Sevens Squad for Wellington and Sydney (Name, club, hometown):

Justin Douglas – (Abbotsford RFC/BC Bears) Abbotsford, BC
Mike Fuailefau – (Castaway Wanderers/BC Bears) Victoria, BC
Lucas Hammond – (UVIC Vikes) Toronto, ON
Harry Jones – Captain (Capilano RFC) Vancouver, BC
Caleb Jordan – (Montreal Wanderers) Montreal, QC
Isaac Kaay  – (UVic Vikes) Kamloops, BC
Pat Kay – (Castaway Wanderers/BC Bears) Duncan, BC
Karsten Leitner – (UBC Thunderbirds) Vancouver, BC
Luke McCloskey – (Castaway Wanderers) Victoria, BC
John Moonlight – (James Bay AA/Ontario Blues) Pickering, ON
Matt Mullins – (Queen’s University/Ontario Blues) Belleville, ON

Adam Zaruba – (Capilano RFC/BC Bears) Vancouver, BC

Unavailable for Selection:

Phil Berna – (UBC Thunderbirds) Vancouver, BC
Nathan Hirayama – (UVic Vikes/BC Bears) Richmond, BC
Liam Underwood – (Balmy Beach RFC/Ontario Blues) Toronto, ON

Coaching Staff:

Head Coach – Damian McGrath
Assistant Coach – Lee Douglas
Physiotherapist – Danielle Mah
Analyst – Calum Ramsay
Manager – Sean Liebich

Canada’s Sydney Sevens Day 1 Schedule:

Canada vs. Russia — 5:52pm ET/2:52pm PT
Canada vs. USA — 8:58pm ET/5:58pm PT
Canada vs. Argentina — 2:45am ET/11:45pm PT

.




© 2017 Rugby Ontario. All Rights Reserved. Powered by CanSport LIVE.

ADMIN LOGIN          ADMIN LOGOUT
WordPress Tutorials
DNN Support